Copyright Aid Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Main siteC A Main Site 

German Co Using Photo of Me in Marketing Material

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
   Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Infringement

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Infringement
View previous topic :: View next topic  
happinessforever

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 10:27 pm    Post subject: German Co Using Photo of Me in Marketing Material Reply with quote

Hi

I am a British musician and back in 2008 i was joking around backstage with a friend of mine who is a photographer. I picked up a piece of musical equipment (which does not belong to me) and struck a very silly sultry pose with it, completely in jest, and he took a photo. this was a funny personal photo and it was put along with various other photos from the night on his personal facebook and flickr pages.

fast forward a few days ago, and a friend in London picked up the 2012 catalogue of a large German music equipment company, the company who made the piece of equipment i was holding, and this photo is in their catalogue - bearing my clearly recognisable face! The photo had an embedded digital copyright at the time it was taken (my friend has some fancy camera and if you rightclick the properties on the original photo, the copyright is there.) Neither the photographer nor myself were approached by or granted permission to the company to use this photo for marketing purposes. This photo is in printed brochures which are currently being circulated in the UK (and likely most of Europe, as the company are based in Germany) . It is currently also in the brochure directly downloadable as a pdf from their site, which is available to download worldwide.