Copyright Aid Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Main siteC A Main Site 

Copyright issues re a picture framing web site

Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Law

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Chris K

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:20 pm    Post subject: Copyright issues re a picture framing web site Reply with quote

I’m a website designer. I’ve created and manage a web site for a picture framer. I've since realised that there may be a copyright issue with what he's asked me to do.

He buys, mounts, frames and sells all the following as framed pictures. Alternatively, some are just mounted (no glass or frame). They are sold online from his site (plus from other sites and at exhibitions). The sales value is less than £100.
1. Original art
2. Prints
3. The front of greetings cards

In addition the web site features some of the commissions he’s been given - these may be photographs, maps, paintings etc. I have asked him to get permission from his customers before I put the images on the web site, and he assures me that they have given permission. I thought this was all that was necessary, but I read something recently which made me wonder if there was a copyright issue with the artist, map publisher, photographer etc.

Your advice on these issues would be appreciated.
AndyJ
Oracle
Oracle

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Chris,