Copyright Aid Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Main siteC A Main Site 

Using famous quote in my university art work

Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Basics

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Basics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
missy_gilbert
New  Member

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:01 am    Post subject: Using famous quote in my university art work Reply with quote

Please can somebody give advice to me with regard to copyright laws and infringement?
I am a university student in Suffolk, studying a BA (Hons) in Photography.
I created three photographic images with regard to emotional abuse within relationships.
In final mounting and presentation of the images, I wish to attach a quote underneath, from Jean-Paul Sartre....."Freedom is what you do with what's been done to you.".....
Can anybody clarify whether it is ok for me to do this?
My work is not for commercial and I do not intend to try and sell it. It is purely for university course work use.

I've never used this forum before and hope that I will be able to work out where to view any replies!!!
AndyJ
Oracle
Oracle

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Missy,
Yes there's no problem with you quoting Jean-Paul Sartre in this way, so long as you credit him* and you don't quote the entire work (book, play, essay etc). This is called fair-dealing. And you are also protected by a different provision in the law because your work is for the purpose of education. Imagine how difficult it would be for students of english (or french) literature if they weren't allowed to quote from the books they were studying!