Copyright Aid Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Main siteC A Main Site 

Copyright of autographs

Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Law

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anna Groves
New  Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:39 pm    Post subject: Copyright of autographs Reply with quote

I'm a freelance editor and I'm doing a spot of picture research for a souvenir guide I'm working on for a heritage organisation. In this publication I quite fancy reproducing the autographs of some pretty famous folk (your basic Hollywood A-listers) who have been connected to this place as a filming location. They scribbled various messages of thanks and good will, and gave them to the administrator of the property where they filmed.

Given the domestic scale of this publication, I can't believe I have to go these people's agents to get clearance to reproduce their signatures. So I'd be very pleased to hear from someone who has knowledge and/or experience of this aspect of copyright.

Thanks very much for your time.
AndyJ
Oracle
Oracle

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Anna,
You don't say where you are hoping to publish this guide, so I'll assume it's in the UK.
There's little chance of anyone being able to claim copyright in their signature. Names alone are not subject to copyright, and although it could be argued that a signature is an artistic work which represents the character of its author, it is unlikely that would be sufficient for a court case.