Copyright Aid Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Main siteC A Main Site 

copyright on 19th Century illustrated book?

Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Basics

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Basics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
beadyozgirl
New  Member

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:46 am    Post subject: copyright on 19th Century illustrated book? Reply with quote

Hello!

I'm sorry if this has already been answered in another post, but on searching I couldn't really find it!

I'm a mixed media jewellery designer who loves to use parts of text or old illustrations in my work.

I have a facsimile copy (that was printed in 2005) of a late 19th Century book called the Illustrated Shakespeare, with illustrations by amongst others an Artist called John Gilbert.

Now, I know that Shakespeare's plays must be in the public domain by now (I think!), but I am interested in using some of the illustrations by John Gilbert.

According to copyright law in the UK, I believe it is the life of the artist plus 70 years. He died in 1897, so I think his illustrations are out of copyright.

The book I have was re-printed from the original, but there isn't any extra copyright associated with this copy. Does that mean I can use the illustrations for my jewellery or not?

Should I contact the people who re-printed the book to ask?

I have always been very careful in determining copyright and ensuring I use copyright free material in my work, and I would just like to know if there is any other law associated with this or not?

Cheers, Amanda/Beadyozgirl
AndyJ
Oracle
Oracle

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Amanda,