Copyright Aid Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Main siteC A Main Site 

Could really use some help please .....

Copyright Aid Forum Index -> Copyright Law

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Stylish1
New  Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:15 pm    Post subject: Could really use some help please ..... Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm new to this forum but hoping you can help. I'm a stylist and I create a concept and feel for a styled shoot, organise the venue, pull the wardrobe etc. then hire a photographer to shoot those images for me.

The photographer invoices me direct irrespective of my client.

I've found that 'works for hire' exists in the US. If I contract someone to do the photography for me do I own the copyright? If not where can I get the details needed to draw up a simple contract to have photographers sign to give me all rights. In most cases even with this contract in place I will give photo credit as my work often is featured in magazines.

Thank you in advance.
AndyJ
Oracle
Oracle

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi stylish

The US concept of Work for Hire is similar to section 11(2) of the UK Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 as far as employees are concerned, but s 11 doesn't also apply to certain narrow categories of commissioned work in the same way that Work for Hire does.