Wedding Venue Copyright Infringement

If you are worried about infringement or your work has been copied and you want to take action.
Satele
New  Member

Wedding Venue Copyright Infringement

Post by Satele » Fri May 24, 2019 12:19 am

Hello,

I'd be grateful for a little advice. I am a wedding photographer and I have recently come across a venue who has been using my photographs for advertising/marketing/commercial purposes without any accreditation or permission. My work has been reproduced and used on social media and their website to advertise wedding fayres/packages and most recently they have printed a large-format banner to advertise outside their venue.

I previously advised that they may share a blog post I had written with these images, providing credit was given to my business but have never authorised any form of commercial use. Naturally, I'm feeling quite aggrieved that they are using my work to promote and advertise their own, at the detriment to my business. They have also edited (cropped) my photographs for use in the large banner, which has further degraded the web-quality version they pinched from my website in the first place and devalues my work. Competing photographers have benefited from the use of my work to advertise their wedding fayres as they received invitation to exhibit and I did not.

Secondary to all of this, is the fact that this could have caused me serious issues with my wedding clients who have not consented for their images to be used in this way. Thankfully, they have been supportive of me but this could have turned out differently and the venue does not seem to have any concern about the way they have misused my couple's personal data.

I have composed a letter to email to the venue to demand that my work is removed from the website and social media as well as the large banner removed but I am unsure how I should approach this to ensure I am fairly compensated for my work and the detriment they have caused.